Local Survivors/ TV Personalities Named 2015 Honorary Race Chairs

COLUMBUS– To celebrate Susan G. Komen Columbus’ latest accolade as the largest Race for the Cure event in the country (No. 2 in the world), the Affiliate is announcing three honorary Race Chairs for the 2015 Komen Columbus Race for the Cure that will be held on Saturday, May 16, 2015 in downtown Columbus.Introducing_insta

“We are excited to have Maria Durant from ABC6/FOX28, Robyn Haines from NBC4 and Tracy Townsend from WBNS 10TV join us as we celebrate this milestone,” said Katie Carter, executive director for Komen Columbus. “Each of these women are breast cancer survivors and collectively they celebrate 17 years of survivorship.”

  • Maria is an eight-year survivor. There’s no history of breast cancer in her family.
  • Robyn is a five-year survivor. She was diagnosed when she was 27 years old.
  • Tracy is a four-year survivor. Her breast cancer was discovered during a routine mammogram.

“The fact that we’re the largest Race for the Cure in the country speaks to the incredible strength and support demonstrated from the community in the fight against breast cancer,” said Becca Thomas, director of events and marketing at Komen Columbus. “The Race brings Central Ohio together and the unity from our media partners demonstrates this point.”

Our Honorary Race Chairs invite you to join us for The Main Event, a cocktail reception and fun evening to kick off the Race for the Cure registration and fundraising on Saturday, February 7th. Register for The Main Event and you’ll receive $5 off your 2015 Race for the Cure registration.

Registration for the 23rd annual Komen Columbus Race for the Cure will open in February 2015.